Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
1

Nomenclature

A recording from Arthur @Substack's live video about changing the name of his personal Substack - and what that means for the tone (if anything).
1

This is an adapted transcript of what I say in the vid.

Share Profit & Delight

A live broadcast apropos of nothing to show you why I've changed the name of my Substack - back really to Profit and Delight. That was the name that I gave my first ever blog, which I started about 2014 and I really like it it comes from Horace's definition of what art should be it should be - or poetry, I suppose he said but it should be for the Profit and Delight of the reader.

Profit of course being more than just the money, it's about whatever that internal sensation is - and I just really liked that. I think it inspires the way that I create stuff it inspires the way that I hope that you receive it, and it also dovetails and lines up nicely with my company name that's I’ve used in New Zealand and now in the UK.

I really loved Cursive Discursive. I handwrite things but what I'm doing with Substack and what I'm doing in all my creative pursuits, is it's not that brand. It's not one thing that I keep doing. I'm really excited about differing technologies, about using all the growing - and historical - opportunities to find different ways of expressing the world around us. Not just sticking to one thing. I’m embracing new stuff, old stuff and always searching

searching,

searching for

Profit and Delight

Oh my gosh I can share my screen oh that's really cool I am going to have to test this in my other guise to show some other types of readers something else but yeah I'm using this product. I love this product, I love the mission of Substack - who I work for - to build a new economic engine for culture and I'm finding ways that I can do that for everyone's mutual Profit and Delight.

So there you go.

Discussion about this podcast

Profit & Delight
Profit and Delight
Audio rambles from Arthur Meek's Substack and other verbal flights of fancy. Spoken, read out loud and/or interesting folks in conversation for your aural profit and delight.